comments 6

10 things an Italian would never say…

1. I couldn’t possibly double-park and stroll casually into the bar for a cappuccino.

2. I’ll just grab a sandwich for lunch.

3. Oops I’d better re-park, I’m miles from the white line!

4. I’m only nipping out for a pint of milk, these old jeans will do…

5. There’s a pedestrian crossing ahead, I will therefore slow down and stop.

6. I was driving too fast.

7. These trousers are too tight.

8. We’d better lower the volume of our little chat lest people think we’re from feuding families.

9. The sun is so warm this November morning I think I can go out without my heavy winter coat.

10. You shouldn’t stare, it’s rude.

6 Comments

  1. Genius – loving your blog. I was referred your blog by my friend Wendy who lives in Ferentino. Your observations will be supremely valuable when we embark on our 6 week Italian tour in May. Keep up the good work! Ian from Edinburgh.

    • Ciao Ian! Thanks very much, Wendy mentioned she had friends over soon. It’s certainly an experience here, lots to hate and love in equal measure, though they tell me it’s a lot more civilised up north!

  2. I could have sworn you based number 5 on Zambia. A friend was hit at a pedestrian crossing because she said “the driver will see the lines and stop for me as they do in Texas.” This was in spite of us having warned her that most local drivers still did not respect pedestrian crossings just like they did not before she went to Texas for study. The car has right of way at a pedestrian crossing, I say (OK, maybe just in Zambia and Italy) 🙂

    • I’ve almost been hit by the car behind when stopping at a pedestrian crossing here, as it’s so ingrained in me to stop, being from the UK. Turns out it could be safer to just keep going…! Thanks for reading 🙂

What do you think?